Writing Tools Review: True Novelist

We all love trawling the web for a good bit of software. Especially when we should actually be writing our novels instead. It’s a great way to feel productive and still actually get nothing done. I have looked into a number of writing/publishing applications over the last few years so I am going to review them here and hopefully help one or two people out with their choice of software.

Today I will be looking at True Novelist. I will put the link at the bottom of the page. I went in search of a Scrivener alternative, mostly because I became frustrated with not having my paid for Scrivener software with me when I as away from my PC or my lame laptop (No battery life). True Novelist is a very powerful, simple and elegant piece of online software. I have spent a few days and am trying to get my January Novel Writing Goals going.

My favorite thing about True Novelist is the stats page and the Daily Word count. You can go check out a dedicated stats page, which shows you your stats for the last few days. Or you can monitor your word count in a small panel at the bottom right of your main writing window. It also has a “Hide Tabs” option, which makes for the highly sought for clean/simple/distraction free writing space. There is a very simple tree on the left to organise your chapters, scenes, characters, research, or anything you want. The tree is flexible and icons and names can be changed at will. Here is a screenshot of my project.

screen shot 2019-01-09 at 5.51.28 am

Check out the Stats review page below. I really
Screen Shot 2019-01-09 at 5.55.41 AM.png

I wrote my first novel in all sorts of ridiculous little notebooks and in so many different apps from Scrivener to LibreOffice. I wish I had used True Novelist. Check out the free online software: https://www.truenovelist.com

2 thoughts on “Writing Tools Review: True Novelist

Leave a comment